Trauma Is The Cause Of My Physical Health Conditions

FormerlyKnownAs
3 min readNov 7, 2021

And No Doctor Ever Mentioned It.

The mind and body are inextricably linked. Trauma experts like Bessel van der Kolk and Gabor Maté write about the ways traumatised people become addicts, angry, and experience chronic pain. Despite being a therapist I had to do years of my own research, as well as talking therapy, before I added other trauma reducing things to my daily life.

Image from Unsplash

I’m under four Consultants in the NHS, and that doesn’t include mental health, all for symptoms whose root cause is trauma. No doctor ever put these specialties together and joined the dots for me. I had to do that for myself. Now that I have, I’m on the best path for me.

My mental health issues started when my Mum was dying and I got diagnosed and treated a few years later. My recovery was by no means linear, taking years of my life during which I was unable to work. I could barely get through a week without feeling suicidal and wanting to harm myself. This level of distress lasted almost two decades.

However, I kept studying despite the despair, it was my main coping mechanism. I have my Dad to thank for instilling the love of knowledge and learning in me. It feels like my biggest gift and privilege and I will never take it for granted. When you come…

--

--

FormerlyKnownAs

Ethical Vegan, Autistic, Therapist, Anti-Racism Work, Hyper-Empathic, Anti-Speciesist, Love Bull Breed Dogs, Musical Theatre, Americana, Moral Philosophy